We are the Sheriffs, County Clerks, Surrogates and Registers of Deeds and Mortgages elected directly by the people of our respective Counties throughout the State of New Jersey. We organized in 1920 for the following purposes:

 

  • To establish a cooperative effort among the Sheriffs, County Clerks, Surrogates and Registers of Deeds and Mortgages of the 21 counties of the State of New Jersey to improve services rendered to their respective constituencies.
  • To hold conferences, consultations and meetings to discuss matters of importance relating to the conducting and advancement of the methods of filing, recording indexing and preservation of the records in the offices of the Sheriffs, County Clerks, Surrogates and Registers of Deeds and Mortgages and such other matters as may be brought before the meetings of the Association.
  • To submit and advocate such legislation for the accomplishment of the above-mentioned purposes and such laws which may be found necessary and feasible in relation to the conducting of all the statutorial requirements and duties relating to the offices of the Sheriffs, County Clerks, Surrogates and Registers of Deeds and Mortgages in the State of New Jersey.
  • To foster new and safeguard old legislation of benefit to members.
  • To promote the social and general welfare of the members.
  • To encourage and maintain high standards of service.
  • To hold an annual conference and special meetings for the discussion of current county problems.

 

New & Noteworthy

2017-2018 COANJ Officers Installed at Annual Conference

(L to R COANJ Secretary Michelle Gentek-Mayer, Outgoing President Elaine Flynn, President Robert Austino, Vice President Scott Colabella, Treasurer Mary Melfi)

The Constitutional Officers Association of New Jersey (COANJ) recently held its annual Conference and a new slate of officers were installed for 2017-2018.  Cumberland County Sheriff Robert Austino is the new COANJ President; Ocean County Clerk Scott M. Colabella is the new Vice President, followed by Camden County Surrogate Michelle Gentek-Mayer who will serve as Secretary and Hunterdon County Clerk Mary Melfi who will again serve as Treasurer.


Sections Chiefs Installed for 2017-2018 are as follows:

County Clerks & Registers - Mercer County Clerk Paula Sollami-Covello

Surrogates - Atlantic County Surrogate James Curcio

Sheriffs - Ocean County Sheriff Michael Mastronardy


Numerous speakers addressed the Conference including former Governor McGreevey, Atlantic City Mayor Don Guardian, Acting NJ Homeland Security Director Jared Maples and a political Reporters Roundtable was hosted by Michael Aron.

Click here to view photos from our

successful Conference

Events

            2   0   1   7                   

Tuesday, November 7 - General Election Day

Saturday, November 11 - Veteran’s Day

Tuesday, November 14 - COANJ Exec. Bd. Mtg (Sheraton, Atlantic City)

Tuesday, November 14 - Nov 16 - NJ League of Municipalities Conference (Atlantic City)

Thursday, November 23 - Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, November 30 - COANJ Gen. Session Mtg (Shadowbrook, Shrewsbury)

Monday, December 25 - Christmas Day

 

 

               2  0  1  8                      

Monday, January 1 - New Year’s Day

Monday, January 15 - Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Tuesday, February 6 - COANJ Exec. Bd. Mtg (Conference Call)

Monday, February 19 - President’s Day

Thursday, March 15 - COANJ Gen. Session Mtg (Mercer County Community College, West Windsor)

Sunday, April 1 - Easter

Thursday, May 17 - COANJ Gen. Session Mtg (The Farmhouse at Grand Colonial, Perryville)

Monday, May 28 - Memorial Day

Tuesday, June 5 - Primary Election Day

Tuesday, June 12 - COANJ Exec. Bd. Mtg (State House Annex, Cmt Rm 4, Trenton)
Wednesday, July 4 - Independence Day

Thursday, July 19 - COANJ Gen. Session Mtg (The Luciano Conference Center, Vineland)

Tuesday, August 7 - COANJ Exec. Bd. Mtg (State House Annex, Cmt Rm 4, Trenton)

Monday, September 3 - Labor Day

Tuesday, September 25-Sept,28 - COANJ Annual Conference (Harrah’s, Atlantic City)
 

back to top